In Pursuit of Memory

In Pursuit of Memory

The Fight Against Alzheimer's

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
For readers of Atul Gawande, Siddhartha Mukherjee, and Henry Marsh, a riveting, gorgeously written biography of one of history's most fascinating and confounding diseases--Alzheimer's--from its discovery more than 100 years ago to today's race towards a cure.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE ROYAL SOCIETY SCIENCE BOOK PRIZE 2017

LONG-LISTED FOR THE 2017 WELLCOME BOOK PRIZE

NAMED "SCIENCE BOOK OF THE MONTH" BY BOOKSELLER

Alzheimer's is the great global epidemic of our time, affecting millions worldwide -- there are more than 5 million people diagnosed in the US alone. And as our population ages, scientists are working against the clock to find a cure.

Neuroscientist Joseph Jebelli is among them. His beloved grandfather had Alzheimer's and now he's written the book he needed then -- a very human history of this frightening disease. But In Pursuit of Memory is also a thrilling scientific detective story that takes you behind the headlines. Jebelli's quest takes us from nineteenth-century Germany and post-war England, to the jungles of Papua New Guinea and the technological proving grounds of Japan; through America, India, China, Iceland, Sweden, and Colombia. Its heroes are scientists from around the world -- many of whom he's worked with -- and the brave patients and families who have changed the way that researchers think about the disease.

This compelling insider's account shows vividly why Jebelli feels so hopeful about a cure, but also why our best defense in the meantime is to understand the disease. In Pursuit of Memory is a clever, moving, eye-opening guide to the threat one in three of us faces now.
Publisher: New York :, Little, Brown and Company,, 2017
Edition: First North American edition
ISBN: 9780316360791
Characteristics: xv, 301 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

IndyPL_SteveB Nov 23, 2018

“One in three people in this room will get Alzheimer’s. One in two will look after someone with Alzheimer’s. As a society, we’re sleepwalking into this.”
--- Dr. Nick Fox, London National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery.

And this book is a good start for waking up. This is not a book on how to live with or care for someone with Alzheimer’s disease. It is instead about the search to understand the disease, from its first discussion in 1906 to research going on today. It is not very technical, but it goes deeply into the subject.

Jebelli begins with his own grandfather’s degeneration from the disease, which propelled Jebelli into neuroscience himself. And he discusses his interactions with other men and women progressing through Alzheimer’s in various ways. There are several chapters on the possible causes of Alzheimer’s. Jebelli spends a lot of space discussing potential treatments and prevention methods; but while some methods appear to lessen one’s chances of getting Alzheimer’s or at least to slow its progression, the results are not definitive, they do not work for most people, and the improvements are small. Unfortunately, as Jebelli notes, the world spends only about one tenth the amount of money on Alzheimer’s research as it does on cancer, even though the rate of occurrence and death is similar. We appear to have accepted age-related mental destruction as inevitable, when we should label it as a disease to be treated and cured.

t
tjdickey
Jan 22, 2018

Jobelli takes us on "a journey that's spanned the globe and brought with it a kaleidoscope of blind alleys, high hopes and stark tragedy," in his efforts to trace the history of human interaction with Alzheimer's dementia. He takes us from the discovery of the malady to the frontiers of the science trying to combat it, whether through lifestyle changes or through novel approaches to clearing out-of-control amyloid from the brain by gene therapy, blood transfusions, and even the surprising potency of tumeric. Hope might come from research into communities as far-flung as Iceland and Columbia. he concludes from the best of science at the end of 2017 that the disease is age-related, though aging not itself the cause, and that genetics and earlier detection are apparently the keys to our next successes. He sees blessed hope through many strains of research that we will see the "abolition" of this epidemic.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top