In Pursuit of Memory

In Pursuit of Memory

The Fight Against Alzheimer's

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
For readers of Atul Gawande, Siddhartha Mukherjee, and Henry Marsh, a riveting, gorgeously written biography of one of history's most fascinating and confounding diseases--Alzheimer's--from its discovery more than 100 years ago to today's race towards a cure.


Named "Science Book of the Month" by Bookseller

Alzheimer's is the great global epidemic of our time, affecting millions worldwide -- there are more than 5 million people diagnosed in the US alone. And as our population ages, scientists are working against the clock to find a cure.

Neuroscientist Joseph Jebelli is among them. His beloved grandfather had Alzheimer's and now he's written the book he needed then -- a very human history of this frightening disease. But In Pursuit of Memory is also a thrilling scientific detective story that takes you behind the headlines. Jebelli's quest takes us from nineteenth-century Germany and post-war England, to the jungles of Papua New Guinea and the technological proving grounds of Japan; through America, India, China, Iceland, Sweden, and Colombia. Its heroes are scientists from around the world -- many of whom he's worked with -- and the brave patients and families who have changed the way that researchers think about the disease.

This compelling insider's account shows vividly why Jebelli feels so hopeful about a cure, but also why our best defense in the meantime is to understand the disease. In Pursuit of Memory is a clever, moving, eye-opening guide to the threat one in three of us faces now.
Publisher: New York :, Little, Brown and Company,, 2017
Edition: First North American edition
ISBN: 9780316360791
Characteristics: xv, 301 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jan 22, 2018

Jobelli takes us on "a journey that's spanned the globe and brought with it a kaleidoscope of blind alleys, high hopes and stark tragedy," in his efforts to trace the history of human interaction with Alzheimer's dementia. He takes us from the discovery of the malady to the frontiers of the science trying to combat it, whether through lifestyle changes or through novel approaches to clearing out-of-control amyloid from the brain by gene therapy, blood transfusions, and even the surprising potency of tumeric. Hope might come from research into communities as far-flung as Iceland and Columbia. he concludes from the best of science at the end of 2017 that the disease is age-related, though aging not itself the cause, and that genetics and earlier detection are apparently the keys to our next successes. He sees blessed hope through many strains of research that we will see the "abolition" of this epidemic.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top