Different Class

Different Class

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

The gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestselling Gentlemen & Players and Blueeyedboy. Perfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris, Paula Hawkins and Tracy Chevalier.

'Crime novel or literary novel? Categories really don't matter; readers will find themselves comprehensively gripped.' Independent
'A cracking psychological thriller' Good Housekeeping

After thirty years at St Oswald's Grammar in North Yorkshire, Latin master Roy Straitley has seen all kinds of boys come and go - the clowns, the rebels, the underdogs, and those he calls his Brodie boys. But every so often there's a boy who doesn't fit the mould. A troublemaker. A boy capable of twisting everything around him. A boy with hidden shadows inside.

With insolvency and academic failure looming, a new broom has arrived at the venerable school, bringing Powerpoint, sharp suits and even sixth form girls to the dusty corridors. But while Straitley does his sardonic best to resist this march to the future, a shadow from his past is stirring. A boy who even twenty years on haunts his teacher's dreams. A boy capable of bad things.

Publisher: London :, Transworld,, 2016
ISBN: 9781409030935
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

CRRL_MegRaymond Oct 09, 2017

Roy Straitley is a Latin teacher in a boarding school for boys. He is an anachronism. And the new, forward-thinking headmaster thinks it’s past time for him to retire, and is ready to force the issue.

s
susanchyn
Mar 04, 2017

Other Class was a satisfying read, on all levels, its dark backdrop notwithstanding.

My reading experience would have been even better had I 1) read it after its predecessor, Gentlemen and Players, and 2) studied Virgil in the original Latin (studied anything in the original Latin...).

But the Latin puns and Master Straitley’s old school humor were not entirely lost on me, thanks to Google translate. "Obesa cantavit"?!

The plotting is intricate—a puzzle that requires patience and a bit of re-reading as new information is shared.

Joanne Harris is a crafty craftswoman.

JCLGreggW Jan 25, 2017

Not quite a traditional mystery, not quite a psychological thriller, but a mixture of both. Set in a British boys' boarding school in 2005, we follow aging Latin professor Roy Straitley as a scandal from 1981 reemerges after it was thought buried. Suspenseful yet leisurely, this one delights.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top