The German Girl

The German Girl

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
8
1
Rate this:
A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "powerful and affecting" ( Kirkus Reviews ) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale , All the Light We Cannot See , and Schindler's List .

Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together.

Hope appears in the form of the S.S. St. Louis , a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers' fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world.

The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.
Publisher: New York :, Atria Books,, 2016
ISBN: 9781501121241
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Caistor, Nick
OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
ll58057
Jul 17, 2017

Loved this first effort by Armando Lucas Correa. It tells the story of Hannah and her escape from Nazi Germany with her family in 1939 on the ill-fated transatlantic liner St. Louis. It follows the family for several generations spending their lives in Havana, Cuba and the times in that tumultuous country. An excellent read that is hard to put down

m
maipenrai
Jul 01, 2017

Audiobook requested thru MNLINK

p
posie12
Jun 19, 2017

A good book, but I found Hannah's histrionics a bit too much.

a
aliciamarie
Mar 09, 2017

This was a novel from a WWII point of view I hadn't read before. Based loosely on the true story of the voyage of the St Louis, a German transatlantic liner that sailed from Hamburg, Germany to Havana, Cuba in 1939. Carrying almost 1000 passengers, mostly Jews who were fleeing The Third Reich, the majority were approved for US visas and planned to stay in Cuba only until they could enter the United States. The two week voyage forever changed their fates, as Cuban officials decided not to allow all passengers entrance onto the island once it arrived, forcing many to return to Europe.

Told through alternating characters both past and present, this story tugs at heart strings and brings unexpected smiles while sharing a little known story about German Jews who left Nazi occupied Germany for the chance of a life in Cuba.

This was a phenomenal debut novel by author Armando Lucas Correa and I absolutely enjoyed every word he wrote. He has a vivid, raw, and effortless style of writing. The words he chose made me feel like I was in the story. I had no issues imagining the scenery and no trouble knowing exactly what the characters were feeling. This was a believable, fictional account, and I was happy to get swept away in the story.

Thanks to Netgalley and Atria Books for allowing me the egalley for free in exchange for my honest review. It was a 5 star read for me! The German Girl is due to be released on October 18, 2016 so pre-order it now! You won't be disappointed!

Happy Reading!

j
jeanie123
Feb 25, 2017

I liked the use of recurrent themes and imagery in the historical and current stories of the novel. Although it is a work of fiction, this book really brings to life and personalizes the true and tragic story of the ship SS St. Louis and its ill-fated passengers who had so much hope for a better future. I would rate this book superior to Sarah's Key but not as good as All the Light We Cannot See.

ehbooklover Feb 12, 2017

I couldn't put this one down. I loved the two protagonists, the parallel narratives, and the author's writing style. I also learned something new. This was the perfect read for a lazy day spent reading instead of going out during the snow storm!

k
klecker
Jan 11, 2017

A wonderful first novel for Correa telling the story of a young Jewish girl fleeing Nazi Berlin aboard the St. Louis and bound for Havana. The story follows Hannah's escapades aboard the ship with her friend Leo. It fast forwards to the life of her granddaughter in New York who is searching her roots. A wonderful, seldom heard story for those interested in reading more about Nazi Germany and those forced to flee its grasp.

k
kakacurt
Jan 11, 2017

If you like "The Nightingale" or "All the Light You Cannot See", you will enjoy "The German Girl".

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

l
ll58057
Jul 17, 2017

ll58057 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top