Fiercombe Manor

Fiercombe Manor

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
3
1
Rate this:
"This haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--
Publisher: New York, NY :, Harper,, [2015]
Edition: First U.S. edition
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780062332967
0062332961
0062332953
9780062332950
0062332945
9780062332943
Characteristics: 1 online resource (403 pages)

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Here is the recipe for a great gothic or Victorian romance: One part crumbling estate, complete with a distant, moody (yet desirable) male heir. One part young, naïve female sent away by the family she has disgraced. Add a creepy caretaker, a staff of servants with secrets, plenty of shadows, and a hint of the supernatural. Mix well, blending equal parts past and present, until the lovers are united in one sweeping and glorious epilogue. I feel like I have read this book again and again, and this one nearly fit the bill. It wasn't fabulous, but it wasn't terrible.

Chapel_Hill_SusanM Nov 17, 2015

A more-gothic Kate Morton, or a more-emotional Diane Setterfield. Either way, a great rainy night read.

s
Storyz2tel
Jul 14, 2015

Haunting, alluring. For fans of Kate Morton, who want a page turner that is complex and well-written.

Quotes

Add a Quote

b
BlackCat675
Jun 01, 2016

Fiercombe Manor is one of those houses people have always been fascinated by...You glimpse places like it sometimes, usually from a train window. Lonely houses tucked into the countryside, almost hidden in the folds of the hills. You wonder who lives in them, what's happened in their history.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top