A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
56
16
5
 …
Rate this:
"Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from stories, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin, a High Lord of the faeries. As her feelings toward him transform from hostility to a firey passion, the threats against the faerie lands grow. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose Tamlin forever"--
Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2015
ISBN: 9781619634442
Characteristics: 419 p. : map ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

u
Umaimakhan
May 03, 2018

the writing may not be the best from a literature point of view, but it can be really enjoyable if you look past all that. I really enjoyed it because I love women that can hold their own like Feyre does, but the romance is a little... it gets better though. the rest of the series is wonderful. Would totally recommend it for people just trying to enjoy a nice story of magic fairies and plot twits.

f
faithmurri99
Apr 01, 2018

The writing was sloppy and the themes and motifs lazily done. The plot made no sense, even after exposition-Alis gave us the lowdown—in fact, it almost made less sense then. It was cheesy and cliché and frankly, boring. The "riddle" was extremely easy and only proved that Feyre is an absolute idiot with no logical abilities, as I was able to figure it out before Amarantha had even finished saying it, and I'm notoriously bad at riddles.

The sex scenes were almost Empire of Storms levels of bad, cringey, and gross. I think Sarah J Maas doesn't know what YA means and isn't aware she's actually writing for NA.

Sarah J Maas gave the impression with her characters Tamlin and Rhysand that she supports rape culture. I find this unconsciable.

While I managed to read it fairly quickly, I had to dnf it for several days before deciding to trudge through. It was horrendous. I may pick up the sequel at some point, idk, but for now, from what I predict and understand from various spoilers I've encountered on the internet, I don't really care about this series very much. Frankly, it's not good.

coffeebookie Jan 21, 2018

This is a unique retelling of Beauty and the Beast filled with intriguing, dangerous faeries and their mystical escapades. It reminded me a lot of Twilight in its ending (spoiler alert). Be prepared for a hefty serving of (mature) romantic encounters. For anyone wanting to try a fantasy book for the first time, I would highly recommend this one – I literally couldn’t put it down!

s
sajotg
Dec 16, 2017

Such a good interesting book! I personally loved it. If you love Sarah J Maas then read throne of glass! that is also super good!

n
Nvfera
Dec 07, 2017

Absolutely loved this book. Can't wait to read the next one!

kirstd31 Sep 11, 2017

A retelling of Beauty and the Beast. The book was okay, not has good as the Throne of Glass series.

r
Ranelle22
Sep 08, 2017

Loved it!!!!

LPL_ColtonS Aug 09, 2017

This is a retelling of the classic story, Beauty and the Beast, set in a land divided in two, between the human realm and the magical world of the Fae. In this dark and thrilling book, rediscover the origins of the curse that haunts the beast, and what Feyre, our “Belle”, must go through to break it. This book is for fans of Fantasy, Magic, Faeries and
Romance.

a
AwesomeNadja
Jul 31, 2017

I always have at least 4 "favorite books" at one time but this utterly fantastic book has been my #1 since the first time I read it. (I've read it about 9 times)

f
fantasybkaddict
Jul 26, 2017

Check out my review at navigatingneverland.org for more details!

Despite my criticisms of the story, I REALLY loved it and can’t wait to read the next one. I hope this one’s faults improve in the next two books. The plot was entertaining, the world building was spectacular, the characters were mostly well developed and interesting, and I loved the writing! With the descriptive sex scenes, etc. I highly recommend this for much more mature young adults.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

m
mjtorgerson
May 16, 2018

mjtorgerson thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

f
faithmurri99
Apr 01, 2018

faithmurri99 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

n
NikT
Jan 25, 2018

NikT thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

o
oso225
Jul 31, 2017

oso225 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

g
green_monkey_3193
Jun 24, 2017

green_monkey_3193 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 21

n
NightWolf_9
Feb 28, 2017

NightWolf_9 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

t
Trumpet_King
Jan 12, 2017

Trumpet_King thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

w
white_horse_641
Jan 08, 2017

white_horse_641 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

b
blue_wombat_54
Dec 28, 2016

blue_wombat_54 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 20

k
karensw5
Oct 03, 2016

karensw5 thinks this title is suitable for 21 years and over

View All Ages

Notices

Add Notices

f
faithmurri99
Apr 01, 2018

Frightening or Intense Scenes: Lots of life-or-death situations with monster-esque creatures

f
faithmurri99
Apr 01, 2018

Sexual Content: Several attempted sexual assaults as well as two borderline erotica sex scenes

f
faithmurri99
Apr 01, 2018

Violence: Graphic fight scenes

c
CrimsonForests45
Jul 30, 2017

Sexual Content: Tamlin kisses Feyre's breasts and the inside of her thigh, bites her neck, and grabs her breast. They are naked together and do have sex, though that is not described graphically at all. Feyre mentions that she had recreational sex with a boy from her town.

GCPL_Teen Jul 23, 2017

Sexual Content: Explicit Sexual Content

Summary

Add a Summary

n
nnkm13
Jun 28, 2016

If you thought this was good wait till you read the second one, A Court of Mist and Fury. I am hooked on this series like I was with Twilight and Hunger Games but MORE! She did such a good job writing this book/series. I can't believe it took me checking it out 3 times and getting past the first chapter till I finally fell for it. ;) kid you not this series is rated #1. I have read over 100 books in the past 2 years an this has been the best! Read it!!

Quotes

Add a Quote

f
Fongpen
Jul 24, 2015

"If it grieves you... I don't think it's absurd at all".
Page 172

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top