On Sal Mal Lane

On Sal Mal Lane

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Set against the backdrop of the Sri Lankan civil war, Ru Freeman's epic novel explores the lives of the diverse families that live on Sal Mal Lane and the heartbreaking ways this once harmonious community turns on one another with the country on the brink of war. On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As each neighbour adapts to the newcomers in different ways, the children fill their days with cricket matches, romantic crushes, and small ri.
Publisher: New York : House of Anansi Press, 2013
ISBN: 9781770893566
Characteristics: 1 online resource (669 pages)

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Nov 11, 2013

A very good book on the Tamil revolution in Sri Lanka and how it tore families and friends apart. While the author was very good at depicting the the characters and relationships, the story got too tedious for me and I skipped the middle part and picked up the end. Overall, an inciteful book very worth while reading.

Jul 17, 2013

A microcosm of family life in Sri Lanka as tensions escalate & erupt between the Tamils and the Sinhalese. For fans of Michael Ondaatje and Shayam Selvaduri.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top