Second Innocence

Second Innocence

Rediscovering Joy and Wonder : A Guide to Renewal in Work, Relationships, and Daily Life

Book - 2004
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Second Innocence describes a unique philosophy for turning life's corners with more enthusiasm, less cynicism and more faith in each other. The innocence that John Izzo advocates is not the naive innocence of childhood. This innocence is a chosen one, one that breathes freely despite the scars form life's mistakes and failures, despite the harder truths that become apparent to us as we become adults. "What might happen," Izzo writes, "if we began to think of innocence as a quality we bring to our lives, a perspective and a way of looking at the world, which is not replaced by experience but which influences our experience? When we choose innocence as a frame to experience the world, the qualities of hope, idealism, openness, and faith nurture the experience of wonder and joy in our lives."In the tradition of Robert Fulgham and Richard Carlson, Izzo uses his experiences as a son, husband, father, employee, minister, author and corporate speaker to inspire readers to see the world from this new, rejuvenating perspective. Chapters with titles like Full Speed Ahead in the Wrong Direction, Choose Your Glasses Carefully, Getting Past Your Expiry Date, The Burned-Out Buddha and The Power of Not Now explore how to reclaim our innocence in four realms-daily life, faith, work and relationships. "It is not that experience should not shape our idealism," Izzo tells us. "In fact, our initial innocence must be shaped to our experiences. To hold onto our innocence is a life-longprocess, and it is our ability to foster the quality of innocence that continues to bring us to the edge of what is possible in our lives and in our communities. That we may choose innocence and idealism while incorporating the harder experiences of living is the core premise of this book."Both practical and inspiring, Second Innocence combines wonderful stories with a inspiring philosophy to help us maintain our idealism and enthusiasm throughout our lives. "This is a wonderful book of modern parables, stories that remind us of what it takes to live a life of hope and joy in an age of cynicism. It will rekindle your love of life and your desire to make the world a better place." -Laurie Beth Jones, author of Jesus, CEO, The Path and Teach Your Team To Fish.
Publisher: San Francisco : Berrett-Koehler Publishers, c2004
ISBN: 9781576752630
1576752631
Characteristics: xiv, 184 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top