A Redbird Christmas

A Redbird Christmas

Book - 2004
Average Rating:
7
1
Rate this:
Oswald T. Campbell abandons wintry Chicago for Alabama, where he believes he'll be spending his last Christmas. He moves to Lost River, a town with one grocery store and a resident cardinal (or redbird, as the natives call it), and becomes involved in the lives of its residents.
Publisher: New York : Random House, c2004
ISBN: 9781400063048
1400063043
Characteristics: 229 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

adcl Feb 08, 2017

Wonderful Story!

a
artemishi
Oct 03, 2014

A Redbird Christmas is typical Fannie Flagg- a heartwarming, tear-jerking story about small-town America, set in a Norman Rockwell concept of humanity.

That sounds trite, but I actually enjoy her stories. They're easy to read, and always end on a note of hope. In this case, I think they also carry a little extra charm for artistic and painterly types, birders, and fans of the South (especially Alabama).

The setting is quaint and the people made me smile, and Fannie Flagg can definitely turn a phrase. A few had me chuckling, and it was a great novel for Christmastime, given the hope and love in it (without any heavy-handed Christian overtones or saccharine "magic of Christmas" messages).

I recommend this for fans of Garrison Keillor, Prairie Home Companion, Fannie Flagg, old-town Alabama, quick-read heartwarming stories, and nostalgic Americana.

deborah2252 Apr 30, 2012

Ick. Fannie phoned this one in. A disappointment.

d
DeltaQueen50
Dec 08, 2011

A seasonal feel-good story, A Redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg was just what the doctor ordered. Oswald T. Campbell, following his doctor’s orders, leaves his lonely existence in Chicago and travels to the warmer climate of Alabama. He is warmly welcomed by the citizens of Lost River, and although Oswald has been told he doesn’t have long to live, his life takes an amazing turn for the better.

Full of interesting and eccentric characters like the postman who delivers the mail by boat, the various members of the Mystic Order of the Royal Polka Dots, a secret society of do-gooders and the friendly store keeper and his tame red cardinal. This is a town with heart, and when they decide to take a abandoned little girl under their wing, they put their heart and soul into making her a happy, healthy child.

I loved this slightly magical story, that for me had just the right touch of sentimentality that I look for at this time of the year. A book to curl up with while enjoying the lights of your Christmas Tree with a cup of cocoa in your hand.

c
cindymaxwell
Sep 28, 2010

I love Fannie Flagg and the first 95% of this book was great. Unfortunately, Ms. Flagg must have run out of time or inspiration and the ending was flat, trite and highly disappointing.

waterthrush Nov 25, 2009

A wonderful Christmas read!

c
Cabby
Nov 04, 2007

Excellent

Summary

Add a Summary

c
Cabby
Nov 04, 2007

Neglected and physically handicapd child adopted by a childless couple in a small town.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top