Sanditon and Other Stories

Sanditon and Other Stories

Book - 1996
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Readers of Jane Austen's six great novels are left hungering for more, and more there is: the marvelous unpublished manuscripts she left behind, collected here.

Sanditon might have been Austen's greatest novel had she lived to finish it. Its subject matter astonishes: here is Austen observing the birth pangs of the culture of commerce, as her country-bred heroine, a foolish baronet, a family of hypochondriacs, and a mysterious West Indian heiress collide against the background hum of real-estate development at a seaside resort.

The Watsons , begun in 1804 but never completed, tells the story of a young woman who was raised by a rich aunt and who finds herself shipped back to the comparative poverty and social clumsiness of her own family.

The novella Lady Susan is a miniature masterpiece, featuring Austen's only villainous protagonist. Lady Susan's subtle, single-minded, and ruthless pursuit of power makes the reader regret that Austen never again wrote a novel with a scheming widow for its heroine.

The special joy of this collection lies in Austen's juvenilia-tiny novels, the enchantingly funny Love and Freindship , comic fragments, and a (very) partial history of England-romping miniatures that she wrote in her teens. Their high spirits, hilarity, and control offer delicious proof that Austen was an artist "born, not made."

Publisher: New York ; Toronto : Knopf, c1996
ISBN: 9780679447191
Characteristics: xlii, 388 p. --
Additional Contributors: Washington, Peter


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jun 02, 2016

I read the novella Lady Susan and enjoyed it very much. This novella has been made into a film; however the film is actually entitled Love and Friendship. I also enjoyed reading the Introduction and the chronology and found them informative!

Mar 29, 2011

Forget all the sequels, prequels, and spin-offs. Never mind the sexual innuendos in Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife and the cartoon violence in Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. Throw out the mystery series starring Mr. and Mrs. Darcy (by Carrie Bebris) and the mystery series starring Jane herself (by Stephanie Barron). You don?t need the next best thing; there IS more Jane. When she died, Jane left several unpublished works. Two of these we know as Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, but the fragmentary Sanditon, the few chapters of The Watsons, and the novella Lady Susan showcase Jane at her finest. Sanditon begins with an overturned carriage, several gossipy chapters about the characters? lives, and ends just when the heroine becomes entangled in a romantic mystery. The Watsons features a young lady brought up by wealthy relations and shipped back to her poor family in the country?rather the opposite of Mansfield Park?s Fanny Price. Lady Susan is a sassy little tale about a man-hunting widow who wants her daughter to marry well?and herself to remarry even better. These fragments are almost as good as the real thing, and in them we get the Jane we know and love.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Find it at PPL

To Top