Collected Stories

Collected Stories

Book - 1999
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Collected here are twenty-six of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's most brilliant and enchanting short stories, presented in the chronological order of their publication in Spanish from three volumes: Eyes of a Blue Dog,Big Mama's Funeral, and The Incredible and Sad Tale of lnnocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother. Combining mysticism, history, and humor, the stories in this collection span more than two decades, illuminating the development of Marquez's prose and exhibiting the themes of family, poverty, and death that resound throughout his fiction.

Publisher: New York : Harper Collins Pub., 1999
ISBN: 9780060932688
Characteristics: vi, 343 p. ; 21 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Aug 12, 2017

Although a great short story writer, this collection includes his early work (section 1) and intermediate work (section 2), which is very interesting because one can see the development of the writing style and development of predominant themes. Its section three that is truly outstanding; only personal preference can allow me to claim that "Death Constant Beyond Love" is the best story (and the best title), and close second is "A Very Old Man...".

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top