Radio Silence

Radio Silence

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
8

From critically acclaimed author Alice Oseman comes a smartly crafted contemporary YA novel, perfect for readers who love Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl. This is an utterly captivating and authentic new teen novel from the author of Solitaire, which VOYA said "could put her among the great young adult fiction authors."

Frances Janvier spends most of her time studying.

Everyone knows Aled Last as that quiet boy who gets straight As.

You probably think that they are going to fall in love or something. Since he is a boy and she is a girl.

They don't. They make a podcast.

In a world determined to shut them up, knock them down, and set them on a cookie cutter life path, Frances and Aled struggle to find their voices over the course of one life-changing year. Will they have the courage to show everyone who they really are? Or will they be met with radio silence?

Publisher: HarperTeen

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
jbrenion
Aug 22, 2019

Excellently-written queer characters (yes, plural) and a rejection of the "traditional" pathways to success that we were all told are the best/only option when we were in school. Wish I had read this when I was a teenager - I needed to hear what it had to say.

Also, it's so refreshing to have a teen book with a female main character who explicitly does not fall in love with the male lead. (She even says as much about halfway through the book!)

p
pmcnames
Aug 15, 2019

Amazing, emotional rollercoaster, must-read. Changed my life.

s
samcmar
Feb 03, 2019

I adored Radio Silence. It's an amazing novel that looks at friendship, fandom, and how we often struggle to believe in ourselves. The friendships in this book are beautiful, funny, and very realistic, and the ride to the ending was easily perfection! I highly recommend this wonderful YA novel, especially if you are a huge fan of Welcome to Night Vale, which is a large inspiration for this book!

a
ace124
Aug 24, 2018

What a delight to read a book that:
a. centers a friendship (between a boy and a girl) that doesn't turn into a relationship
b. the main character doesn't have any romantic relationships during the timeline of the book, and that's not a problem
c. has a variety of LGBTQ+ characters with varying degrees of outness, and that's not the focus of the book
d. includes a demisexual character and a clear but simple explanation of asexuality and demisexuality.

Although it would have been nice if the main character, who overheard the asexuality/demisexuality conversation, had reflected on that information. Honestly, she came across as "asexual but hasn't realized it yet" to me, though she identifies as bisexual.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jun 23, 2018

Oseman writes wonderfully about the diverse cast of characters and the fact that literally every main character is queer utterly amazes me. The mood of the book, the need, the call, through every page to just have someone listen. Some think that this dates the book but I believe this is the power of Radio Silence. Frances and Aled have one of the most compelling platonic relationship I’ve read in awhile. I love that every single driving relationship in this book is either platonic or queer. This story mainly focuses on Aled’s podcast, but the amount of depth put into all of the characters is amazing. Frances just wanting to be actually heard and seen by her classmates and friends, then she meets Aled whos going through his own journey centered around his horrible family dynamic. Then we have the diversity. Our bisexual biracial lead with her gay demisexual best friend and his Asian sort of boyfriend. I haven’t read and enjoyed a lot of books with this amount of diversity because they are hard to find, but Oseman has the diversity, she has the plot, and she has the memes. All written into a beautiful four-hundred and ninety-six pages. 5/5 stars
@GreenUnoReverseCard of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

This book was specifically written for generation Z which I liked, I mean the whole backbone of the story was a podcast. I also liked how this book has so much representation and discusses heavy themes still stigmatized by some. The friendship between Aled and Frances is so pure and it’s to see a platonic male female friendship in a YA novel. However I can’t say I connected with the book too much. Sometimes it felt like there were too many themes and messages being thrown around that not any one of them stepped forward and became the central message of the book. Some people enjoy these kinds of books, personally I don’t really.
@bookanarchy of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

This book captivates the emotions that teenagers often feel as they enter their young adult life and must navigate the world for the first time on their own. False expectations and self doubt have led the main character Frances to feeling like she must be perfect, while also sacrificing the truth of who she really is. After being on a podcast where she was real and honest for the first time, it’s circulation backfires on her and she must answer to things that she never had the courage to before. This book forces you to confront your worst qualities as well as to be honest with yourself about who you are and who you want to be. I would rate this suspenseful and true to life story 4.5/5 stars and recommend it to those still struggling to discover their truth.
@The_Reviewer of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

lindsay_r Jun 13, 2017

An emotional rollercoaster about friendship, finding your path in life, and the turbulent world of online fandom

Sbean1999 May 02, 2017

One of the best books I've read in a very long time, I devoured it in 2 days and couldn't get enough! I hear Oseman is making Universe City into an actual podcast and I can't wait!

LPL_WilliamO Apr 14, 2017

Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park take note: current, diverse, and filled with quirky adorableness. An adorable story about friendship and being true to yourself. You won't want to put it down until you're done!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top