Veni, Vidi, Vici

Veni, Vidi, Vici

Conquer your Enemies, Impress your Friends With Everyday Latin

Book - 1995
Rate this:
Fans of Amo, Amas, Amat, and More, Eugene Ehrlich's first collection of Latin words and phrases which still serve gracefully today, will delight in this second offering. Here's a sampling: audacter calumnaire semper aliquid haeret ow-DAH-ktehr kah-luum-nih-AH-reh SEM-pehr AH-lih-kwid HI-ret talk about negative campaigning! This advice, "slander boldly, something always sticks," goes way back in time. And, for the slanderer, has more often than not been proved effective. So, while our century has had its share of shameless lying, we certainly didn't invent the technique. contra felicem vix deus vires habet KAWN-trah feh-LEE-kem wiks DAY-uus WIHR-ehs HAH-bet don't bet against a crapshooter on a roll Publilius Syrus telling us that "against a lucky man a god scarcely has power." Why buck the odds? dea certe DEH-ah KEHR-tay assuredly a goddess A fine compliment to pay any woman of outstanding achievement in her lifetime.
Publisher: New York : HarperPerennial, c1995
ISBN: 9780062733658
0062733656
Branch Call Number: 422.471 Ehr 32 01
Characteristics: xx, 297 p. : ill

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top