Clouds of Witness

Clouds of Witness

Book - 1987
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

The second book in Dorothy L Sayers Lord Peter Wimsey series introduced by crime novelist Ruth Dudley Edwards - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords.

Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime - this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke's shooting lodge and Lord Peter's sister was engaged to marry the dead man.

But why does the duke refuse to co-operate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?

'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Publisher: New York : Harper & Row, [1987], c1927
ISBN: 9781473621206
9780450001802
0450001806
9780060550356
006055035X
Characteristics: 287 p. --

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
diannehildebrand
Jan 02, 2018

Love these Dorothy L. Sayers whodunits about the detective Lord Peter Whimsey. I'm obviously reading them out of order, so this is one of the earlier ones, without Harriet Vane, but it's really good anyway. The odd thing is, in this book, she has Lord Peter Whimsey and some other nobs dropping all their g's - livin' singin' happenin' - very weird. Would this have been the way the upper class talked in the 1900s? In the later one I read - Busman's Honeymoon - he doesn't speak like this at all. An odd change.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top