Book - 1986-
Rate this:

This first volume in the Coward Collection contains four plays written within a two year period when Coward
and the century were still in their 20s. The volume is introduced by Sheridan Morley,
Coward's first biographer.

Hay Fever , a comedy of bad
manners, concerns a weekend with friends of the Bliss family, who have
all been invited independently for a weekend at their country house
near Maidenhead. The Vortex
was a controversial drama in its time, introducing drug-addiction onto
the stage at a time when alcoholism was barely mentioned. Fallen Angels , which is written for two star actresses
was described as 'degenerate', 'vile', 'obscene', 'shocking' - the
second half of the play is entirely taken up with an alcoholic duologue
between the two women. Easy Virtue is an elegant, laconic tribute to a
lost world of drawing-room dramas, no other writer went more directly
to the jugular of that moralistic, tight-lipped but fundamentally
hypocritical 20s society.

"He is simply a phenomenon, and one that is unlikely to occur ever
again in theatre history" Terence Rattigan

Publisher: London :Methuen Drama, 1986-
ISBN: 9780413460608
Branch Call Number: 822.912 Cowar 3206 v. 5 01
Characteristics: 5 v. --
Alternative Title: Coward plays


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Find it at PPL

To Top