The Dirt on Ninth Grave

The Dirt on Ninth Grave

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Grim Reaper Charley Davidson is back in the ninth installment of Darynda Jones' New York Times bestselling paranormal series, The Dirt on Ninth Grave

In a small village in New York Charley Davidson is living as Jane Doe, a girl with no memory of who she is or where she came from. So when she is working at a diner and slowly begins to realize she can see dead people, she's more than a little taken aback. Stranger still are the people entering her life. They seem to know things about her. Things they hide with lies and half-truths. Soon, she senses something far darker. A force that wants to cause her harm, she is sure of it. Her saving grace comes in the form of a new friend she feels she can confide in and the fry cook, a devastatingly handsome man whose smile is breathtaking and touch is scalding. He stays close, and she almost feels safe with him around.

But no one can outrun their past, and the more lies that swirl around her-even from her new and trusted friends-the more disoriented she becomes, until she is confronted by a man who claims to have been sent to kill her. Sent by the darkest force in the universe. A force that absolutely will not stop until she is dead. Thankfully, she has a Rottweiler. But that doesn't help in her quest to find her identity and recover what she's lost. That will take all her courage and a touch of the powershe feels flowing like electricity through her veins. She almost feels sorry for him. The devil in blue jeans. The disarming fry cook who lies with every breath he takes. She will get to the bottom of what he knows if it kills her. Or him. Either way.

Publisher: New York :, St. Martin's Press,, 2016
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9781250074485
Characteristics: viii, 326 pages ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: Dirt on 9th grave


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Aug 26, 2017

Definitely read from the beginning of this series to get the full enjoyment.

This series is about Charley Davidson. She is a PI who just happens to be a grim reaper.

This series is sassy and funny. I absolutely adore Charley and her family and friends.

Just finished this ninth book in the series and it’s still fresh and fun.

ChristchurchLib Apr 17, 2016

Living in a small village with no memory of her past, Charley Davidson is startled by her ability to see ghosts and by people of dubious trustworthiness who claim to know her before sensing a malevolent force and bonding with an alluring new friend. By the best-selling author of First Grave on the Right.

Feb 23, 2016

Love this series and all the characters especially Charley Davidson but I recommend reading a few of the previous books to get a solid foundation first.

Nov 20, 2015

Funny, scary & clever. Unlike some series that are running on fumes by book #9, this one is getting better.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top